Simply A Farmer’s Wife


Sir Winston Churchill
October 10, 2007, 1:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“You make a living by what you get, you make a life by what you give.”

What a wise man.  I have spent the last few days seeking God’s wisdom and strength and was directed to First Corinthians 13:4-13. 

“Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself; is not puffed up; does not behave  rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.  But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away.  For we know in part and we prophesy in part.  But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.  When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.  For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face.  Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.  And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.”

It’s a lot to take in I know.  Most of you know the situation that has been going on the last few days and I cannot thank you each enough for you out pour of support and love.  It has taken an emotional toll on me to say the least.  I am still somewhat dumbfounded by the threats and accusations but nevertheless have decided to be the bigger person and pray for my enemy.  It’s not an easy thing to do but it’s the right thing to do.  I cannot allow my life to be consumed with drama and negativity.  I know that I am a good person and I tried to do a good thing but it got me nowhere but harassed.  I will not make that same mistake.   I will find my way through this journey of CDH on my own time, in my own way and will honor Parker and the other CDH babies in a respectful way.  It will be about the babies and about CDH.  The war is over.  I am waving my white flag.  I surrender.  

So, on a good note.  Ashley and I have a lot of great things planned.  I wish I could share them here but it’s best they be kept private for the time being.  We are looking into hosting a foreign exchange student next year.  Really depends on if we get pregnant or not.  Yep, we are going to start trying again.  I have put a call into one of my dear friends who is a genetics counselor so that we can get that part over with.  I am so excited about expanding our family.  I think it’s the right time and we are both anxiously awaiting the opportunity to bring home a daughter or son.  Please pray for us as this will be a trying time.  We both trust that God will see us through but we also know that prayer works as we are living proof of it. 

Well, it’s really late or early and I need some sleep.  I thank you each for being true friends and for being there for me.  Thank you for standing up not just for me but for our children. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m not exactly sure what happened but I’m sorry for the stress that it has caused you. You both definitely have enough stress as it is!

I hope the genetics counseling goes well and that we have some good baby news from you soon! 🙂

Oh, and those pumpkin pictures are adorable!

Comment by amyszoo

I will be praying for you! I understand a little of the agony and anxiousness you are feeling regarding your decision to get pregnant. I had a miscarriage after my oldest son was born and remember how difficult it was not to worry when I found out I was pregnant again. Trusting God is what we are commanded, and I pray you will find the grace and strength to do so.

Comment by South Carolina Mom

Hey Jes!!

Amen to ALL that!
You go girl!!

Love you – and I’ll always have your back!

~Shawn

Comment by Shawn C

amen jessica, turning the other cheek is a very hard thing to do, but each time you do it , it will be easier, before you know it youll do it before anyone rips you apart.

very nice post.
very nice pictures…does it even feel like fall your way?

Comment by whitney

Another Amen to that! I’ve been saying prayers for the same person for years… maybe God will hear us all! 🙂

It’s ALWAYS better to take the high road and stay out of the mud and have some class to make our cherubs proud of us! Helping CDH parents should always be the ONLY motive for any of us – this isn’t a popularity contest, it’s a disease and we’re all in this together. I’m sure Parker is so proud of you!!! 🙂

When you get a chance, there are some photos of you and the girls at the Ohio picnic on our site.

Yeah, on the new baby plans!

Here’s to a brighter, happier, drama-free future for us all!!! 🙂

Love,
Dawn

Comment by Dawn Torrence




Leave a Reply

