Simply A Farmer’s Wife


Death Can End A Life But Not A Relationship
October 22, 2007, 10:15 am
Filed under: Books, Dr. Phil

As most of you know I am addicted to Dr. Phil and watch it every day.  I have learned a great deal about life, love and death since losing Parker.  I know some people don’t agree with Dr. Phil’s philosophy but most days he makes pretty damn good sense. 

Today it was about memorable guest and during a break they showed previews for tomorrows show.  Normally I fast forward (I DVR it) but for some reason I didn’t and I am so glad I didn’t. 

On tomorrows show there is a guy by the name of Mitch Albom who wrote a book called Tuesdays with Morrie.  It has been on the New York Times bestseller list for four years and has been raved  “An extraordinary contribution to the literature of death”—Boston Globe.

I have ordered a copy and am excited about reading it.  I hope that each of you will take time to do the same.  For so many people death is the ending to a relationship but for us it was the beginning.  I had to say hello and goodbye to Parker within hours of each other.  It wasn’t how I planned it but it’s how it happened.  God has seen us through this journey and has on many occasions shared His wisdom and strength with us. 

I guess the point of this post is that because Parker is dead doesn’t mean that our relationship with her is.  She will always be a part of our family.  She will always have a place in our hearts and in this home.  I know that it freaks some people out but it’s our life and unless you’ve a walked a mile in our shoes you cannot judge us.  We are excited and proud that God chose us to be Parker’s parents and are in awe of what He has in store for us. 

I hope this made sense.

cover.gif

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you know that is a perfect way of looking at it….couldn’t have said it any better!!

*~* :o) if you don’t have a smile to give… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

Comment by Aimee

Well Said. Love Lauren

Comment by Lauren

I absolutely loved that book. Made me laugh and cry…sometimes all at once. I recommend it to everyone! Good stuff!

Comment by amyszoo

Jessica,
It’s so true…just because our babies aren’t here in body doesn’t mean that our relationship with them ended. Thinking of you always.
~Carole
http://thejourneyfromhere.blogspot.com
http://accordingtocarole.blogspot.com

Comment by Carole

That book is being taught to the adult learners at the place I work now!! TOO COOL!!

Signs – they ARE everywhere!!

Comment by Shawn C




Leave a Reply

