Simply A Farmer’s Wife


Canada Update, Finally.
April 29, 2008, 9:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Thanks for being patient!  It’s been tough adjusting to reality since leaving Canada and I’ve been nausea since I returned so any free time is spent sleeping in the fetal position with my Pepto next to me.  Wonderful image huh?

So, I arrived in Detroit at 6pm on Thursday.  Lauren was there waiting for me.  And so was Cat.  Cat flew in as a surprise to Lauren.  She got into Detroit at 12pm and waited patiently for 6 hours for us.  I walked up to Lauren and gave her a hug and then told her to turn around so I could see her new haircut.  And behind her was Cat.  She casually said hello to her and then did a double take and said, “Oh my gosh.  You sneaky girls.”  She was so excited and of course we all shed some tears.  It had been a year since we had all been together. 

We are the three muskateers.  All of us bonded immediately.  Our stories so much the same.  We have shared many tears, laughs and screams together.  This trip was perfect. 

Thursday night we went to Katie’s house for Grey’s Night.  We got to meet most of Lauren’s girlfriends and they were all so nice to us.  After that we went home watched Friends (our favorite show) and talked.  Her family is beyond nice!  I wish I could bring them all home with me!  Even Tina and Hurley.  Yes, Lauren I said even Tina and Hurely.  Although I’m not sure that Pep and Ryleigh would like that. 

So, Friday we spent the afternoon with Kristin and Jan.  We went to the mall and did some shopping.  I bought the most amazing bras!  We went home and met Lauren and then went shopping again.  We had plans to out to downtown Windsor and have some drinks and celebrate LCJ style.  Most of you don’t remember San Antonio (hell I don’t think we remember most of it) 2007 but we had a blast together.  We hit downtown and had so much fun!  We met some more of Lauren’s friends who were nice as well.  The bars are great.  The first bar we went into was playing country music!  We had some drinks there and headed off to several other bars where we continued to drink.  We went home around 3 am and watched more Friends and headed off to bed around 4. 

Saturday was more shopping and sight seeing.  Windsor is gorgeous.  Lauren took us to the river where we had lunch and saw Avery’s brick.  It brought tears to my eyes.  We then headed off to visit Avery.  Talk about emotional.  It was so nice to finally be where she was laid to rest.  I know her body is in Heaven with Parker but to be there was beyond words.  I am getting teary eyed now thinking of my visit with her.  It truly solidifies that our girls are gone.  They are never coming back to us and it breaks my heart.  The trip to the cemetery was extremely difficult for Cat.  To see her two best friends grieving over their only children.   Their precious little girls.  She broke down and we stood there all just holding each other crying. 

We headed back to Lauren’s house to have dinner with her family.  Her mom and dad made this amazing dinner and it was so good to sit around the table with her family.  They are truly amazing people and I am so glad they are part of my life!  I cannot wait to go see them again. 

Saturday night we spent the night in.  We rented movies and then watched Friends.  Again.  Lol….  It was so nice to sit on the couch with them in our pjs and watch (or semi watch) a horror movie.  We laughed and screamed as each of us watched through our fingers.  We went to bed and dreaded waking up the next day because we knew what it meant.

Sunday was some shopping and having lunch and then heading to the airport in Detroit.  I was so sad to leave them.  I got home late as the weather was really bad.   So, I am tired and going to watch my shows since my DVR is not working!  Ugh.  The cable company will be here between 8-12 tomorrow to fix it or else I’m going to have a nervous breakdown.  I live off my DVR. 

So if I left anything out I’ll add it later.  I’ve added a few pictures because I cannot figure out how to work damn Flickr.  If anyone knows please fill me in. 

The trip was really needed.  It is so nice to be with friends who “get it” and I can just be myself.  Parker’s birthday is coming up and being with them right now was so good for me.  Thanks girls!!! 

Okay bed time….  Enjoy the pictures!!!

 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks like you had a super fantastic time with your friends. It’s so great to have people in your life like that that just “get you”. I’m so happy for all of you for that!

I hope you are feeling better now, that’s such a yucko feeling!

Comment by Amy

You three all look like hot mamas! 🙂 It sounds like you had a fun trip, I hope you are feeling better. I so wish you didn’t share what you do, but you know you’ve found some great friends who can truly say “been there, done that, don’t want to ever do it again!” I’m still waiting to meet any CDH families in person, although I did get to meet sweet Roo once.

Comment by Kristyn

One day I’m going to have the honor of meeting you too, Jes – and I can’t wait!

You girls look like you did it all in one short weekend. Tears, giggles and girl stuff (bras, yay!).

I so wish with all I am that you guys could have been dealt a different hand – sadly, no. Just please remember that although we may not be next to you every day – we are here for you when you need us. All it takes is a phone call, email or MSN chat to reach us. It’s not much – but it’s something.

We love you, Jes, Ashley & Parker (ok ok….the dogs too!).

Comment by risingangel

Jess,

I’m glad you had a good time with friends who do “get it”. I think we all need friends like that, especially during the difficult times. Take care and know I’m thinking of you!

~T.C.

Comment by South Carolina Mom

so glad that you guys got to meet up…sounds like you really had a great time…maybe we will meet up next time…

♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

Comment by Aimee

I can’t believe you posted that picture of me!!!!! I was pretty intoxicated that night!!! If only they saw all the pics you took that night!!!!!!

I love you guys and can’t wait till August!!! NC here we come!

Love, Cat

Comment by Catherine




Leave a Reply

