Simply A Farmer’s Wife


Update on P’s Birthday and Some Other Stuff.
May 8, 2008, 10:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Well, it’s late so I am going to try and get everything in this one post because we are leaving for the lake tomorrow after work.  We are spending Mother’s Day away from here and with some family, friends and good food and drinks.  We are both really excited about going! 

First news.  Parker’s birthday was good.  We made it through as best we could.  We are obviously still scarred from her death but her birthday is a bittersweet day for us.  It is the day our daughter came into our lives and each year it is a remembrance of the what ifs and whys.  This year we smiled more than we cried.  Our lives will never be the same because of our little girl and we are both better people now.  We miss her more each day and are so blessed that we are her Mommy and Daddy.  We had a small balloon release at the grave and then came back to our house for food and cupcakes.  Her cupcakes were amazing!  When we picked them up we were both pleased to see what she had designed for Parker.  They were absolutely delicious!  As a matter of fact I just ate one.  Yummy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today was a bit tougher.  It’s the day she was taken from us.  So many mixed emotions ran through us today but somehow we managed to make it through with minor bruises.  I pulled her things out today and I lost it for a brief period of time.  I was overwhelmed with her presence and her smell.  All of her things were put in ziploc bags when she passed and everything still smells like her.  It is hard to believe that she has been gone for two years.  It is so hard going through her things but it brings back so many wonderful memories as well. 

We ordered her headstone today.  It was very hard to do but something we’ve been putting off for many reasons.  It’s done now.  We should get the proof in about 2 weeks to approve and then once we do it will be another 6-8 weeks before they deliver.  What we chose is perfect for her.  I hate that we are having to buy it but she deserves a marker.  We are both glad that we have it ordered and cannot wait to see the final product.  It was tough to swallow for us both but we’ve been through worse right?  I mean we buried our only child almost two years ago.  There is nothing worse than that. 

There is something that Ashley and I have had in the works for several months now.  Something we were going to keep hush hush until we received a certain approval but after an email we received on Tuesday we decided to go public.  When Parker was in the NICU I vowed to her that I would do everything in my power to help families like our own, to help and fund research, to adovate and to educate others about CDH.  That I would do everything I could to help find a cause. 

 In January 2008 we founded The Parker Reese Foundation.  We are a North Carolina nonprofit organization awaiting our 501c3 tax exempt status from the IRS.  We are very excited about the future of our foundation and the possibilities for families of CDH.  We have many wonderful people involved in the foundation either as officers or board of directors.  People who have stepped up and dedicated their time, energy and money into the mission of The Parker Reese Foundation.  We are eternally grateful to them for being a part of the foundation.

So, on Tuesday I was getting ready to leave work.  Wrapping up some loose ends before I took the next two days off when I got an email.  I purchased Pep (our German Shorthaired Pointer) last June for Ashley for Father’s Day and have kept in contact with the breeder somewhat since then.  He emailed me the most amazing email ever!  He and his wife own a home in Hillsbourough, NC which is between Durham and Chapel Hill where Duke and UNC Chapel Hill are located.  He got a promotion and had to move to Portsmouth, VA last May.  The house the have in NC is located on a farm.  It’s a gorgeous home surrounded by acres of land and trees.  A very peaceful place.  Long story short (because it’s really late now) he offered his home to families of CDH.  He said that he and his wife were very touched by Parker’s story and truly felt like we were brought into their lives for reason.  He knows that the average stay for CDH families is 6 months (from P’s website and his own research on CDH) and he wanted them to have a place that is peaceful and a place to call their own.  He had no idea about the foundation but after we told him he said that he truly felt Parker was talking to him.   He also said that he had started writing that particular email several times and had finally decided to just send it that day.  We are going to work out the details but I cannot even begin to tell each of you what this means to Ashley and I.  So many of you know what’s it like to be separated from your home and living in a hotel isn’t ideal and we all know that the RMH doesn’t always have space.  I cried when I read his email.  I cannot wait to get this project under the works and update each of you.  I will be calling him Saturday to work out some details and hope that once we get it going we can get some wonderful donations from local businesses.  We are constantly amazed at people’s generosity and kindness.  There is so much to do with the foundation but we are all kicking butt.  I have the greatest ladies on our team!!! 

If any of you are interested in helping please feel free to email me.  Okay, it’s late and I really need to go to bed.  No proofreading tonight.  I hope I got everything in like I wanted.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What AWESOME news! Both about Parker’s foundation and the house. Amazing, amazing, amazing. We hope we can help in some small way.

Parker’s cupcakes look delicious! 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Comment by Kristyn

Wow! That is amazing! I am so happy for you guys and also all those families that will benefit from this couple’s generousity!

Oh, and those cupcakes are fabulous!

Have fun at the lake!

Comment by amyszoo

That is awesome news!! Parker must be so very proud of you.

Those cupcakes look great….and yummy. Your logo is pretty sweet too….

Hugs……M :O)

Comment by Melissa

Jes,

Don’t know what to say. I am so sorry for your loss. Congratulations on the great news but I know the pain is still there. I will pray for your endeavor as it has huge potential, like you wrote.

~T.

Comment by South Carolina Mom

That is so cool! I bet Parker is so happy and proud!!!

I like your logo too… makes me cry a little…

Comment by Cristin

That is so cool! I bet Parker is so happy and proud!!!

I like your logo too… makes me cry a little…

Comment by Cristin

I want a cupcake; seriously WANT ONE!!! I really can’t believe how good they look. It’s good thing the rest of your post had such amazing stuff in it because otherwise I would still be stuck on those cupcakes.

WOWZA on the house. I can see it now, in 50 years every single CDH center in world will have a “Parker’s House” but they will be trying to find a new use for them because CDH has been cured by the research of someone funded by the Parker Reese Foundation. TOTALLY see it my friend.

The Jackson Graves Foundation does something a bit similiar (has a room the hospital or something), they may be a place to look for guidance.

Comment by Jenn M

I understand completely about the headstone. We laid our son’s on his first birthday. What a gift. I almost couldn’t do it, I knew he was gone, but to see it in stone. The cemetary was great and let us lay it outselves. My husband laid it, with our families. The workers came later to finish doing what needed to be done. But it was nice to have that moment for ourselves. You have such strength, I’m sure that your beautiful angel is smiling on you. Big hugs to you both.

Comment by mari lopez

A HOUSE??? WOW!!!!
It truly is amazing what good can happen when others hear your story!

I am sitting at work simply BEAMING at the idea that your foundation has officially been blogged!! What an honor to be part of it. Is it NOW possible for me to put it on Cloud Nyne?? Hmmm??? 🙂

Parker’s cupcakes look fabulous! I would like you to UPS me that one with the little pink flower please…….I can drive to the border to meet it there. 🙂

I’m sending you all huge hugs – we blew Parker kisses on her birthday! Love you guys so much!

Comment by risingangel

My new blog:
http://www.risingangel.wordpress.com

Cloud Nyne’s revamping to be unveiled soon!

Comment by risingangel

Jes,
I just have absolute chills!!! What an awesome thing you are doing for Parker and all CDH children. Her cupcakes look beyond gorgeous!!!
~Carole

Comment by Carole




Leave a Reply

