Simply A Farmer’s Wife


Praying For Texas.
September 12, 2008, 9:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Most of you know that I am originally from Texas and all of my family except my oldest sister still lives there.  Many of them on the coast.  Please say a special prayer for them today as Ike gets closer and stronger.  Not just for my family but for all of Texas who is in Ike’s path.  I wasn’t old enough to remember correction (thanks Shawn) I wasn’t born when the Great Storm of Galveston that hit at a Category 4 on September 8, 1900 that killed over 6,000 people but I’ve seen the pictures and videos and they are comparing Ike to the Great Storm.  I hope they are wrong as it would mean my family and others would lose almost everything. 

Today the gases prices spiked in my little town.  One gas station even ran out of gas.  It’s amazing how oil companies and our government will take advantage of situations like this.  Anyway, I’ll fill up at lunch as we are going to P’s House this weekend and get it ready for The Myers who’ll be moving in later in the week. 

I’m so glad it’s Friday.  And I get to spend the weekend with my niece and nephew which is an added treat!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You weren’t old enough in 1900?? HOW OLD ARE YOU!?!?!

I’d hope you weren’t BORN YET!! 😛

That storm in Galveston looked brutal….I’m keeping my prayers goin’ for your family in Texas – hopefully Ike is gentle….if a hurricane can be gentle!

Comment by risingangel

We will be praying hard for everyone in Texas, Ike sounds pretty scary. What a wild and crazy weather year!

Comment by Kristyn

Thankfully my family made it through ok. Some damage of course, shaken up, and exhausted, but otherwise ok. I pray your family did too. I hope that now everyone can keep safe in the aftermath and begin to recover.

Comment by spenceradventure




Leave a Reply

