Simply A Farmer’s Wife


March 29, 2009, 11:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
It’s been a while since I last updated but things have been extremely busy at my house.  We are working on several home projects which means no free time for me or my hubby!  Right now we are refinishing the hardwood floors in our guest bedroom.  Everything from our guest bedroom is now located in our office so there’s no getting in there for a while.  Our laundry/sun room is a disaster too.  We are painting in there this weekend and so we are in the process of moving everything out of there as well.  Where we are putting it I have no idea really.  I have added quite a bit of projects to our “to do” list and it’s pretty overwhelming.   I truly thought when I picked my paint colors 3 years ago I would be content for a long time but I should have known better.  I love changing the look of my house but I try to pick paint colors that I can do that with without having to change the actual color.  I’m excited about the new looks of my home and once we are done I’ll share some pictures.  There are so many people in blog land who have inspired me to love my home again.  I found The Lettered Cottage via Nester awhile back and her kitchen re do has completely inspired me to add some flare to my own kitchen.  Layla is a very talented interior designer and offers virtual design consultations for cheap.  I love her style and this girl really knows what she’s talking about when it comes to design.  If you get a chance check her out!
The Lettered Cottage

The Lettered Cottage

I love the wooden corbels  she added to her cabinets.  As soon as I can make my way to Home Depot I’m going to purchase some for my own cabinets.  I love her  beadboard wainscotting.  Say that 3 times!  We currently have a backsplash on one of our kitchen walls but wanted something differnet and thanks to Layla we (a.k.a. “me”) now know what that is.     Beadboard wainscotting
The Lettered Cottage

The Lettered Cottage

If you’d like to check out more of her fabulous kitchen just head on over to The Lettered Cottage!  We are going to put a new floor in our kitchen too and I have debated for a long time about what that particular floor would be.  I originally wanted a handscrapped hickory laminate wood flooring because it would wear well with our two dogs at the time now three dogs.  We currently have a cheap and by cheap I mean a total cost of $52.00 black and white check laminate floor.  We have gotten so many compliments on our floor (not sure why) but when we tell people we are going to remove it they frown.  I was at Lowe’s the other day and found the 12×12 black and white tiles that I think I’m going to go with.  Our kitchen is white cabinets and black countertops (which we are upgrading to Silestone) so I think keeping the floor would be a good idea.  Although that will be my next design question for Layla because I want an experts opinion.  Dirt is a common factor in our home with my husband being a farmer and 3 dogs so I need something that hides dirt.  The check floor isn’t doing it for me.  I found this floor via Nester’s blog and I absolutely love it but not sure if I want to invest that much time into a kitchen floor in a house we don’t plan on spending the rest of our lives in. 

923b035f

I am super excited about the new living room furniture that my dear sweet hubby agreed to let me buy this weekend.  I don’t have any pictures yet but it’s gorgeous!  We need new furniture because when we purchased our current set about two years ago I didn’t keep in mind the fact that we have dogs and my husband is a farmer which translates into he plays in dirt.  Our furniture now is gorgeous and comfy and I hate to see it leave my house but it’s hard to keep clean so we bought some more durable and darker in color.  Once we get it I’ll take pictures.  I know how room for a coffee table which really make me happy.  I think I’m going to get a fabric tufted ottoman.  I saw a gorgeous one at TJ Maxx last week but I know without a doubt that it’s not there anymore. 

We finished the hardwoods in our guest room today and they look great.  I can’t put the furniture back in there until Wednesday because the floors have to sit for 3 days.  I have some new furniture for that room too and I cannot wait to see the new look of that room.  My mom and sister are coming in May for Parker’s birthday so that room is priority.

I am completely obsessed with my home now and I’m not sure if that’s healthy or not but I’m loving every 998 square feet of it.   I have painted so much in the last 5 months that I’ll be a happy girl when I can go 6 months without seeing a paint chip, paint brush or smell paint. 

If we aren’t at our house working we often find ourselves at Parker’s House working so we are looking forward to a much needed break in April when we’ll head down to Charleston for some great food, shopping and just relaxation.  I’m going to book us a couple’s massage because we both need and deserve one! 

Well, it’s late and we have a BIG day tomorrow so I better get some rest.  Please keep us in your prayers tonight and tomorrow we’ll share with you why.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Man, you are the interior decorating queen! I was proud of myself for just semi decorating Anna’s room before she was born. I wish I was so inspired! You go girl!

Comment by Amy's Blah, Blah, Blogging




Leave a Reply

